The Nanaimo Medical Staff Engagement Society was established in September 2016 to engage with the Health Authority and to provide a means to address issues of importance to the medical staff.  This initiative is facilitated by the Specialist Services Committee and supports the Medical Staff Association to provide resources and infrastructure.


Dr. Dave Coupland, MD, FRCP


Dr. Dave Coupland has been a Radiologist at NRGH, as well as a consultant radiologist at Madrona Imaging Inc, since 1996. His medical degree was completed in his home town of Edmonton, AB at the University of Alberta, followed by residencies in Radiology and Nuclear Medicine at the University of British Colombia in Vancouver, BC. Dr. Coupland had produced and contributed to a compendium of medical publications, and has lectured on his research throughout North America. He presently remains a consultant radiologist with health centers spanning Vancouver Island, and sits on a variety of medical committees including PACS Lead MII & NRGH, and Chair Peer Review of BC. His leisure interests include reading, golfing, hockey, economics, and politics.

Dr. Alison Croome, MD, FRCPC

Vice President

Coming Soon!

Dr. Joe Foster, MD


Coming Soon!

Advisory Committee

Dr. Ana Dabu, MD

Dr. Dave Forrest, MD

Former President

Dr. Rurik Hubner, MD

Dr. Rob Johnson, MD

Dr. Mike Kenyon, MD

Dr. Blair Rudston-Brown, MD

Dr. Chris Rumball, MD

Dr. Jeffrey Somerville, MD

Dr. Jodie Turner, MDCM, CCFP-EM

Dr. Connie Woo, BSc, MD, CCFP